Scope advise for 7mm Rem Mag

Elmacho

Hello
I plan to re-scope this year, move up from my 3x9leupold to maybe a 4-14 or 6-18 leupold.

Any advise from the long shooters. i want to do this to improve ability to see 400-500 yds on coues deer.

Which do you all like best?

Mark

I would buy the 4.5 - 14 power with the Boone and Crockett Reticle. That is your best bet hands down, that scope is awesome. I have a 7 mag as well and with that scope you can hit clear out to 500 yards easy. You just need a rangefinder and sometime to go out and shoot. The first time I went out I put a target out at 100, 300, and 400. Once it was on at a 100 yards I started shooting at 300 and 400 at it was right on. I later shot at 500 with a paper plate on a big piece of cardboard and hit the plate with no problem.

Thanks. Will go with one then.....kinda had my mind on that.

Been practicing to 400 with my 3x9 and it does well, but you can hardly see a coues that far out with it to make an ethical shot

Mark

LAST EDITED ON Jan-23-08 AT 05:42PM (MST)[p]Check out huskemawscopes I have one on my 7MM and have no complaints.Best of the West offers these new scopes.Very well built and they will custom make a knob for your set up and for the elevation you will be hunting.

"I would buy the 4.5 - 14 power with the Boone and Crockett Reticle."

I own the same one on my 7mm. Very confident to 500 yards and the reticle rocks! Add in the fact it's a Leupold and your set for life.

ODDNUT1
Kirt C.

One more vote for the leupold. I fyou get one with target turrets they will etch the turret to match your load information. Flat out awesome and it takes the guess work out of it. But I know the new recticles are a good set up also.