Spot And Stalk

R

Reflex_Shooter

I Am Fairly new to bowhunting and i have always wanted to try a spot and stalk. Does anyone have any info on the best way to do this. I will be hunting some pretty big bucks after i get them patterned and so if i dont intercept them i thought that i might try to stalk on them. the cover is thick thick cedars any info would be helpful.

The best way to learn is by do it. Practice sneaking up on does if you have some time you want to waste in the middle of the day.
To quite my steps I take my boots off when I get close to the animal and put on a double layer of wool socks. A good book to read is Dwight Schuh's "Hunting Open Country Mule Deer"

As BrianID said, "The best way to learn is by do it". Go out in the off-season as much as possible and practice. I've heard of people that say they've gotten close enough to touch the deer. I've never seen it and haven't done it myself, but I've stalked close enough to clearly see every individual hair and eyelash on 'em (10' or less). One thing I've learned, take your time. A bedded or feeding deer isn't going anywhere significant in awhile unless spooked. Slow movement and keeping cover between you and the deer plus moving silently and watching wind direction is key.

I guess it's fitting that I jump in on this. I agree with what the others have said. Experience counts for a lot. Also, along with watching the wind, moving slow, and keeping as much cover around you as possible, I would also suggest stalking in from behind or above the animal. In my experience, big deer will bed so they can see a clear path below them. I have had good luck sneaking in from behind, by watching landmarks and moving slow. I have used this technique after glassing feeding bucks in the morning and wathcing them bed.

There is nothing like practice. I like to watch them after they bed down to make sure they don't move. The sun will change position and sometimes make them move. I've had that happen before.