Spotlighting

cmbbulldog

Very Active Member
I have heard from a few folks that it is perfectly legal to spotlight at night in NM as long as there are no weapons in the car.

I just chatted with a game and fish officer about my unit for this year, and he told me that while it is legal, he recommends strongly that I dont do it. He said that if they saw us doing it, they would pull us out of the car at gunpoint and handcuff us until they searched the vehicle.

That just seemed rather extreme to me, although I get thats how people poach at night. But Im not the one making the laws. Is it legal to even do that?

Any people run into this while in NM?

Im no lawyer, but I would be happy to take them to court over that one. Lets face it, law enforcement in this state is not going to get the benefit of the doubt from anyone.

For what its worth: They told me that a "slingshot would be considered a weapon"

They really don't want anyone spotlighting. It is however legal to spotlight for racoons now (with serious restrictions on how).

As a follow up for anyone who knows, does headlights on a truck count as spotlighting?

In the past, I have left early in the mornings listening for bugles, with bow in the truck. If I heard one worth going after, I would start to ease in close to the elk well before shooting light. So, would driving the truck around listening for bugles (considering the headlights would be on) be considered spotlighting. In these instances, I would absolutely have bow ready to go for a hike.

If I was actually spotlighting with a hand held spotlight, then I wouldnt have a weapon in the vehicle.