Streambeds

backpacker

Just had a question about fishing streams in UT- does private property pertain to the streambeds too? Was wondering if a guy can wade streams in between parcels of private land, wondering if the property only extends to the high water mark or goes past it. Couldn't find it in the regs. Thanks.

As far as i can tell the private property includes stream beds. I have had talked to a couple of buddies that have been asked to leave said properties by Fish and Game....
477ae34e5b284072.jpg

I was under the understanding that the streambed was private property. You can float over it but you can't touch the bottom.

You can float on the water, but in Utah landowners own the "land."

It's sad to see what little water Utah has locked up behind more and more gates and fences.

Along those lines, is it just me or does the Provo seem to be getting worse and worse? Especially the middle.

I've been fishing it for over 20 years and have been waiting for all of this river reconstruction stuff to start working....

I'd have to say that from the dam to deer creek that the fishing is much worse than pre construction.

I've got lots of theories as to why. It sucks to live so close to such an awesome river that use to fish great...

Worse in terms of size of fish or numbers? Was thinking of making the trip down there sometime this year just to say I fished the Provo.

LAST EDITED ON Jun-03-08 AT 09:19PM (MST)[p]backpacker,

Both. Your best shot at a "big" fish is if one moves up from Deer Creek into the river.

I caught a 26" brown a couple of years ago right below the Jordanelle dam, but you're gonna have to fish really hard and long to break 18" up there now.