T/C Encore or Pro Hunter

MNHunter

I'm new to the smokepole game and am looking for a muzzleloader. What is the deal with the Encore and the Pro Hunter? Do you have to buy them in pieces because I cannot find them online with prices (as an assembled gun). Anybody own one? Am I better off getting an Omega or something else?

Thanks in advance

My understanding of the Pro Hunter is that it is new for 06'. I haven't found a full gun on-line yet. I have seen barrels for it on-line, but not the full gun.

But if you go to gunbroker.com, and search there, you will find quite a few Encore muzzleloaders. Search on 209X50 and you will get at least one page. Prices start around $500.

If you can find a Pro Hunter , I'd get it . It has some great features , I really like the buttstock as it reduces recoil in the larger calibers by some 40% . There was an article in one of the gun mags last month on it but I didn't buy it , wished I would have . I think it looks great , but I like that encore look...

LAST EDITED ON Mar-22-06 AT 01:35PM (MST)[p]
Thanks guys. I'm not sure what I'm gonna do. Probably save some $$ and just buy an Omega. I just wish the Omega came with a nice walnut stock with SS barrel.

I bought a Pro Hunter today for $697 at Gallensons. Pretty freakin sweet! best feature to me is the 90* turn to remove the breach plug. It has a rotating hammer, recoil absorbing stock, and a couple other great features. I shot 2 regular Encore muzzies yesterday and there is zero blowback (powder residue) into the action. That to me is worth buying one. I ordered a 6mmBR and a 204 barrel for it also.

either that or get a TC hawken or renegade and shoot the same group at 100 yards as the modern boys do.

>either that or get a TC
>hawken or renegade and shoot
>the same group at 100
>yards as the modern boys
>do.

I've heard the old guns shoot pretty good, I just like the ease of cleaning, 209 primer, and the ability to change to any calibur I want besides muzz.