The Year of the Sheep

martinc

I'm living a dream this year : I will hunt sheep for the first time, in September 2010. I'm scheduled to hunt bighorn sheep in BC, in the Kootenays, with Alex Smutny - Bugle Basin Outfitters, Sept 9-18. This is a I'm also allowed a mule deer.

That will be my second hunt out west, I was in Northern BC for an elk hunt this last september with Dale Drinkall, Folding and Terminus Mountain Outfitters. My background is mostly as a whitetail and moose hunter.

I plan to post here my preparation toward that hunt - training, equipment...

I'm 37 and in good shape, I train 4-5 times a week. My training method is CrossFit, I believe it helps a lot, and better than pure aerobic training for mountain hunting. It gives leg strenght and stamina for climbing, much better than running. Strenght training is too often associated with bodybuilding but CrossFit is very different, geared toward athleticism and performance instead of muscle hypertrophy. I will get into more details in future posts.

Martin

Good luck. I live in the west and have yet to hunt sheep. Keep us informed of your progress, gear your taking, etc. Its great to live the hunt from my living room. I'm pulling for you.

LAST EDITED ON Jan-05-10 AT 08:44AM (MST)[p]From my limited sheep hunting experience I would have to say that being able to shoot is perhaps even more important than being in shape. If you don't get many opportunities to do much long range shooting, (Moose and Whitetails usually don't require it) I would certainly make that a priority in your preparations. Absolutely know your gun and your limitations. Sheep are usually a spot and stock hunt, but it is rare to get close before you run out of cover. Also shooting at severe angles muddies the water as well!

I am fortunate to be going on a Dall hunt in 2011 so I will be making preparations myself. Sheep hunting is addictive and we are all looking forward to your posts!
Anyway, congratulations and good luck for sure!