This Winter !!

chipc

Very Active Member
I'm no expert but based upon what I saw in several areas of wyoming last week if there is any kind of nasty winter it will be devastating to the deer and antelope. While there was decent feed up high, on the winter range there is none. I mean none. The sage has no green shoots at all and the scatered sparse tufts of grass are no longer than my lawn. cross your fingers for an el nino or something that will help the few remaining critters.

Near 70 degree weather in November is a good thing.

With NO snow accumulation at all to this point, there is no reason for deer and antelope to even be on winter range yet.

I think theres some serious over-reacting going on.

guys- ive been doing this weather thing in the west for the last 30+ years. I always tell people that anyone who thinks there is any significant accuracy to a winter forecast for more than 10 days in the western US, is either selling something or a bit distorted on reality.

This storm this weekend looks to me like a decent snow producer for primarily the western mountains of WY (I'm talking thru Sunday or so). Otherwise, the dry conditions are going to persist through the weekend, but the winds will increase and you can forget the mild temps after about Friday, statewide.

After that, what i'm seeing on the current model forecasts is another week or so of continued mild (though not nearly as warm as this week) with some brief periods of moisture in the favored higher-elevation locations, especially the western portion.

There is a distinct lack of cold air outbreaks moving south out of Canada during the week or so after this weekend. This is a big deal in mid-november as some past novembers produce wideapread subzero conditions in WY by mid-month. Not this year, through the next 10 days or so anyways.

After that, stay tuned, as there is a lot of uncertainty. I don't know whether this is useful to anyone, but I hope so.