Unit 45 deer

B

BUGLELK

Wow...looks like this would be the year to draw a tag in unit 45...after this year it will be difficult to find a mature buck. Does the F&G really think that increasing the number of tags by 300% (from 75 to 225) and almost doubling the length of the season (Now Sept. 15 - Oct .31) will keep this hunt at a quality level? It's ridiculous. Not to mention increasing the number of landowner tags by 300%...

I wonder who came up with this plan...

Corey

Especially in Units they migrate in from your general season quality will plummet dramatically. They do not want it as hq ,unit 44 has that designation in Region now.

LAST EDITED ON Feb-26-08 AT 02:40PM (MST)[p]No kidding,45 could end up being a shadow of its former self after a few years with tags at that level. I am also not a big fan of the proposal to open the late 40,41,42 hunts on Nov 1st instead of the 10th. What will unit 40 look like after 5 years of that? Not that I am a biologist, just my arm chair observations. I plan to attend the meeting in Nampa tomorrow.

-Hghcountry

When and where is the meeting in Nampa? I couldn't agree more about how wrong the F&G is and would love to attend.

Corey
Not to get off the subject,,, but how did the bugle competition go?
Brian

Hey Brian,

It went pretty good. My 5 year old son, Isaac, took 2nd in the voice division. We also competed in the team calling again this year and thanks to Isaac's on-stage theatrics, were able to win that as well! :) I ended up losing to my Dad in a tie-breaker and wound up in 5th in the finals. In the Pro division, it went like this:

1. Joel Turner (170)
2. Al Morris (167)
3. JR Keller (167)
4. Rockie Jacobsen (166)
5. Corey Jacobsen (166)
6. Matt Brimmer (???)

Have you figured out what you're going to do for NM this year?

Corey

Shed,

I pulled this off the F&G website, I wont get ther until after work, around five or so.

Southwest Region, all meetings from 4 to 7 p.m. - 208-465-8465 in Nampa or