Wasatch Muleys

nv_hunter

Very Active Member
I drew the General Archery tag and plan to start scouting next week. I am very new to Utah and would like some advise on what direction to start looking. I have heard that city creek is popular? I would like to get as faraway from people as possible. I am looking to kill a 180 plus. I would trade info on NV for UT info.

nevadaanimatedhelmetwd2.gif

>Alot of guys hunt up a
>lifetime and dont kill 180
>and the wasatch is even
>harder good luck!
>
>
>
hornkiller.jpg

So I have heard. But I love to hunt and if I dont kill anything I will still have a blast!

Very few 180+ bucks on the Wasatch front, tall order. I would suggest using your state wide archery tag for the last time and head to the southern portion of the state.

I would stay clear of City Creek. I went there last season for a day and the amount of hunters there is crazy. You would think it was rifle season. Saw 4 different groups of guys all trying to sneak in on the same buck. Plus, not too many 180+ bucks hang out in the popular areas.
Above Bountiful/City Creek does have a lot of deer, but go higher, away from the crowds and you'll have a better time.

The wasatch is hard place to bow hunt. That being said there are some awesome deer on it. If you spend time on it and hunt hard you will see big bucks.

So you have never hunted the front and you just think you can get info from the MM crew and go kill a 180 buck with a bow on Public land? Hmmmmm.... Is this one of those MM jokes?

Go do your homework and hunt hard. I know several bow hunters that have hunted for 10+ years and never harvested a buck. A 180 buck with a bow is a tall order on any unit, LE or not.

My advice is spend several years learning areas and deer habits. Maybe one day you will get your chance at a nice buck. City creek is good, but you won't be alone. And most people don't just run into 180 bucks in an area they don't even know.

>So you have never hunted the
>front and you just think