What powder Manufactur?

400bull

Very Active Member
I have been reloading for a couple years now and have always used Hodgon powder. Now that I have started to study the reloading manules a little closer I have noticed that Hodgon's powder is not used as much. What Manufactur (IMR, Aliant, Hodgon, ect.....) do you use? Why do you use it.

400bull

PS All of my reloading as been for a 243 and a 270.

I mostly use IMR and Alliant. I use the powder that gives me the best results. Sometimes its not supper fast but I'll take accuracy over speed any day... I had a load worked up for my 243 that would shoot almost the same hole... It was easily 300 fps slower than all other loads for the same bullet weight, but I liked to be able to know what a bullet is going to do when it gets out there 300+yards those gophers are only 2 inches wide... It has been my experience that some poxers regardless of manufacture like certain cases best. I wouldn't worry all that much about brand but worry about accuracy.

Ivan

So far, after nearly 20 years of reloading, I've used IMR, Hodgden & Hercules / Alliant and a handful of others that I probably can't spell. Like Bambistew, I always look for accuracy and try a new pound out every so often. I don't have a preference other than my Pet loads. The majority of my pet loads are either IMR or Hodgden.

Howdy,

I have 8 one pound bottles of different Hodgdon powders and two cans of IMR powder.

I like Hodgdon for two reasons:
1) I need the extreme powders uniformity in temperature changes
2) I refer you to Hodgdon's mission statement.

Coach

LAST EDITED ON Nov-17-03 AT 10:34PM (MST)[p]Make mine Hodgon...just always has seemed to give me the best accuracy in my loading. I've used IMR to some extent and Accurate XMR powders, along with others...but I think I can always find a Hodgon powder that will fit the bill. This is from loading .220 swift on up to 300 RUM.