wyoming unit7

accumark

I have 6 points and just put in for the special draw for unit 7. did not think it would take this long to draw an elk tag. I have an outfitter I have known a long time I will be hunting with if I draw. he has private ranches to hunt. hoping we can find a 340 plus bull. anybody else hunting unit 7 private land? are there a good amount of these kind of bulls out there?

LAST EDITED ON Jan-24-14 AT 01:43PM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Jan-24-14 AT 11:01?AM (MST)

LAST EDITED ON Jan-24-14 AT 10:59?AM (MST)

Yes, you'll have an opportunity to find a 340+ bull, but a more realistic goal is 300-320. Unless you have lots of elk experience, I bet you drop the hammer on the first 300+ bull you see (they look big)...good luck. I'm sure you'll find something you like...best advice listen to your outfitter, since you trust him! PM me for more info I've hunted it 3 times on private ground when I was a Wyoming resident.

>This is what you can expect
>from a large, well placed
>ranch in Unit 7.
>
>http://www.wagonhound.com/hunting-2013
>
>I don't think there are a
>good amount of 340 plus
>bulls anywhere but unit 7
>is as good any anywhere
>to maybe find one.
>Plenty of the bulls that
>this ranch takes will not
>go 340 plus.

I'm in sticker-shock! NineThousandFiveHundredDollars for outfitting AFTER you spend the years and money to draw the tag? No wonder Realtree Nascar guys are hunting it!
I guess I'm just old and out of touch!
Sorry for the rant,
Zeke