First good goat pics

TheFever

I was up Big Cottonwood scouting for Muleys and came across this goat knocking rocks off a ledge to make room for his siesta. I have watched some goat hunts here and there, but I'm no pro on their size. How would he score as far as scoring is concerned?

Had an awesome time taking pics and watching him from 100 yards. Made the hike all worth it even more!

7678mountain_goat.jpg

1815mountain_goat_profile.jpg

7465mountain_goat_zoom_out.jpg

>>>---->
For the love of the game

That is a real good goat.....he would score very well. Hard to tell but it looks like he has both length and some mass.

Good Billy IMO. The 2nd photo with his head in profile shows a long snout that is starting to hump in the middle, sign of a mature Goat. Rough guess 9-1/2 by 5-6/8.

LAST EDITED ON Jul-06-12 AT 09:01AM (MST)[p]super nice goat. shooter for sure. he looks way over 8 inches. my guess is 9 and then some. i tried zooming in the picture to count his rings and the picture got really pixeled up. i counted 5 rings plus his back ends puts him around 6 yrs of age as a my guess.

Goats are some of the toughest critters to field judge but that one looks pretty darn good to me.
My guess is right at 9"... maybe a little more.
The horns always look the biggest when the hair is short so this time of year they show all their horn. It's easy to overestimate the length.
Zeke

Here's a billy that I shot in 2009. It measured 8 4/8" long as I recall.
I think your goat pics shows a bigger goat than mine. Like I said, they're difficult to field judge, especially when the billies are mostly solitary.

Zeke

2087mountain_goat_ut_2009008.jpg

Exceptional billy!

Wow....great mass and length. 9.5"+/-
He's not an old goat, probably 4.5 maybe 5.5, but very blessed with great headgear.

Hey TheFever,
I just posted to joethebowhunter to try to catch up with you. His dad has a tag in that unit. That would make anyone a nice trophy.