google earth

31incher

Hey guys... I was just wondering if you guys use google earth for scouting. Not just looking for big foot and the abinomal snowman. Im talking about elevation change and distance from point a to point b. Im trying to do it from a mobile phone and as far as I can tell its not possible. Can you do it from a computer or not? Maybe somebody knows and can help thanks!

Yes. I've found some nice little high country basins courtesy of Google Earth. You still want to hike in and glass and see the country first hand, but Google Earth can help narrow down and save some miles.

Yes, I use Google Earth extensively. I have not tried it on my phone, but on a computer it is possible to find out distances and it will tell you elevation wherever you place the cursor.

I used it for my ML hunt in NV and it simply helped with distances from one point to another. Didn't really help with elevations for me. I studied a certain area pretty well on GEarth but when I actually hiked it, it was nothing that I expected. I will study googlearth in a different light on my next hunt in NV 192. I'll realize that things are not as they seem on GEand elevations are different than I have assessed then . Its nice to know where canyons and draws are but its very difficult to know that the elevation difference is in certain elevations.

M'Balz Es Hari

I have GPS Maps from Trimble, thru Cabela's.

I bought an iPad simply for this program. It is WAY better than GE.......and it is free!.......look it up on your computer.

I don't know if it has a phone app or not, I wanted the "big picture".

"Being an idiot is NOT an art form. Give it up!"

I use it to look for potential springs, and look at terrain in general. Major trails can be seen pretty easily in open country.

I like to lay the map out giving it a "from the ground" view...if it looks steep at all on Google Earth...it's gonna be twice as bad in real life.

Best of Luck,
Jeff
http://www.elkmtngear.com