High Elevation Deer hunts?

southslope82

I am a non resident to colorado with a few deer points. I am just extending my research to find what units are High Country Style hunts . I am looking into like a Early Season Muzz hunt or rifle hunt. I would like something above timber line and even around 11000,-12000 ft.- If ya know what I am talking about! I am in great shape I do alot of hiking/back packing I also have horses. What units would you recommend I look into? I am not looking to draw this year even I would be fine waiting a few more years. - I have just read way to many awesome high country deer hunts in magazine subscriptions. Its gave me the itch and I have decided thats how I want to spend my Colorado points. thanks

The Buffalo Peaks near South Park (I believe south of Fairplay) used to produce big bucks back in the 1980's.

There's no prettier place to hunt than the high alpine country in Colo. These are considered "quality" hunts due to low deer tags issued. Unfortunately if you are hunting any OTC elk unit in Colo this means there will likely be a lot of hikers, grouse hunters, and unlimited number of elk hunters. You may want to check and see what other seasons overlap!

You will likely need to cover lots and lots of country to find the few pockets of deer that exist above treeline. We all know how difficult it can be to hike and breathe at 9,000 to 14,000' elevation so you better be in the best shape of your life...and also be equipped to handle the elements! There are some great bucks available, you just have to cover lots of country and find the few that are there.

From what I have found so far is that the majority of these High Alpine type hunts are pretty easy to draw infact some of them look like they could very well be a year after year thing. Would you consider any of these units trophy areas?