Max Points Non-Res Elk Hunt Info sought

Jeffpg

Hey fellas, I am holding 8 points going into the 2014 draw and I'm ready to go hunting for a big bull.

I prefer to rifle hunt but I can do any weapon and don't mind hiring an outfitter if needed.

My focus is on having a great hunt for a trophy bull elk.

Thanks for your input,
Jeff

Hey Jeff! I think if you would just scroll down through the threads on this Forum for the last couple months you'll see units and outfitters that guys have recommended if you have a lot of PPs like you do. If you have the stash to go to a place like Wagonhound in unit 7 or a number of other places that are on this website, then that should increase your chances of tagging a good bull. Good luck!

I would look at the late hunts in the NW corner of the state if I had my points back. nothing else.

Stay thirsty my friends

I am a resident and if I had one elk tag I would take area 58...... Heck I would give up 5 years of elk hunting for that one tag...

>I am a resident and if
>I had one elk tag
>I would take area 58......
>Heck I would give up
>5 years of elk hunting
>for that one tag...

***There you go Jeff. That's right from a resident member that's in the know on elk hunting in Wyoming. I'd take his advice and not look back!

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help. My only hunting experience in Wyoming was for antelope last year, so I'm going in blind for elk. Of course, having applied for years I do try to learn something each year that may help me choose the best unit for a trophy bull.

Unit 58 was my top choice last year and for this year I had narrowed it down to 56, 58 & 59. How do you think these units compare?