Sheep Wall Pedestal Mount

Cozmo8

LAST EDITED ON Apr-09-07 AT 09:51PM (MST)[p]Would anyone that knows taxidermy well be stone cold honest about this mount. I want to know what you think.

DallPed2.jpg

DallPed1.jpg

DallPed3.jpg

im no expert but ive seen a lot of mounts and that one looks fantastic! beautiful ram. lets see a better pic of the harli behind him :)

It sounds to me that you don't like this mount. I think it's very well done. Beautiful mount. Be happy with it.

Very nice ram!
I'm not a fan of the mouth position. Doesn't look natural to me.
I do like the form you chose and will be getting back a Stone's sheep soon with the same form (no rock on the mount). I'll post pics when I get mine back so you can compare.

Just curious if that's a fannin or is his cape stained dark? Maybe just the lighting in the pic??

SSS

First off let me say wow...that is a nice ram. Mass like that on a dall is not very common these days. I'll go out on a limb and say that ain't no Brooks Range dall.

Dalls are just one of those animals that look so cool in the wild and then months later you get the mount back and you go hhmmmm? Not talking about your mount here, but generally the eyes look bulbous, the ears seem to be in a funny place and the nostrils are just ...well..strange lookin.

From what I can tell by your photos you have a great dall mount. That staining on the shoulders is common depending on the soil the animals bedded in. A taxidermist can paint or bleach it away to some extent but that wouldn't be in the long term best interest of the mount. The body lines from the shoulder blades and brisket into the lower neck look really good. The attitude of the horns looks natural the eyes and ears are on the spot. Can't really say anything about the nose or slightly open mouth without seeing it in person. From your photos he looks super.