The 27th day, Idaho Unit 76-3 Moose

pikespeakgoat

First post here, so please bear with me. I have been applying for moose in Colorado for 17 years to no avail. A couple years ago I started putting in for points in WY. This year I started putting in for some other states as well. Well as luck would have it I drew Idaho 76-3.

I made 3 - 650 mile scouting trips up this summer, (1 in June,July and August) and didn't see any moose (found plenty of sign), plenty of Elk though and several really nice bulls. I went up 5 days before season opened and scouted more to no avail and then hunted the first 8 days of season, still no moose but plenty of sign and elk again.

Well that little thing called a "job", required that I return back to work for 2 weeks.

I returned to Idaho again on September 22 and was there for 4 weeks or until I got a moose. I was walking 10-12 miles each and every day and was finally starting to see a few moose, though mostly on the wrong side of the road while I was travelling back and forth between hunting spots and camp.