The Expo and a Little Math

grizzmoose

Very Active Member
Hi Guys,

With the release of the expo odds, I thought Id try to put some perspective on what the odds mean. Before I do that, let me state that I am not a statistical expert, though the statistics in this case are fairly simple. I only looked at the deer and elk odds considering that they are the most popular species.

The deer tag with the best chance of winning is a Book Cliffs Archery tag, which is .16%

The elk tag with the best chance of winning is the Central Nebo Muzz hunt at .24%.

The average chance of winning a deer tag is .09% or 1 in 1175.
The average chance of winning an elk tag is also .09 or 1 in 1175.

Now here are some more interesting statistics. We all know that there has been a history of people winning a tag in consecutive years. I also recall a person who won both a deer tag and an elk tag in the same year. People in here kept saying how statistically impossible that is. Say a person wins the "easiest" deer and elk tag in the same year. That chances of that happening are .00039 percent possible. That equals 1 out of about 258000.

The average chance of getting a consecutive deer and/or elk tags is about 1 out of 1,184,000.

And just to make it fun, the following things are more likely to happen to you than drawing consecutive deer and/or elk tags:

Becoming a pro athlete
Getting a royal flush in the first 5 cards
Dying from a terrorist attack
Dying in an airplane crash
Getting injured on a toilet
Your kid dying in a car wreck
Being declared dead by a Social Security data mistake
Being murdered
Dying in a plane crash
Dying from an asteroid hitting the earth in the next 100 years

Hope you enjoyed the read.

(P.S. I actually do have somewhat of a life.)

>So are you saying I have
>to experience all the things
>you listed before I draw
>my dang expo tag?

No, not at all. You can omit several of the items if you choose one of the death stats first.