Arizona sheep question

bschnoor

Does the 20% of top point holders draw the tags for sheep like deer and elk? Is it worth applying without max points? Thanks - Brian

Of course it worth applying. I believe that the 20% works the same. There is always going to be hunters drawn with less than max. It also depends on what units you want to hunt also. I'm a resident and drew with 4 points. We also guide for bighorns in AZ.

Just wondering the same thing. With few permits. Does a non-resident with only afew points have a chance to draw? Even if it's a slim chance. Thanks, Greg

Nope,
Dont put in. Just buy the bonus point till you are in the max pool.

Bret M.

Well, it sure looks like the same deal, the 10% nonresident cap should fill in the max points round, but the cost of applying is the same, so why not give it a try? They have screwed up the draw before, and can do it again. That might be your best hope. Points only should be if you really can not hunt this year for some very good reason. They should come back next year with an additional constraint, like only 1/2 of the nonresident 10% cap can come in the max points draw.

Sorry, I just downloaded and read the regulations. They say that no more than 20%, rounded down per hunt number go to the 20% draw. Plus no more than 10% total can go to nonresidents. There are 93 sheep tags, nonresidents can get 9. Only sheep hunts with 5 or more tags have a tag that goes to this, 6 total. Probabally about 1/2 will go to nonresidents, perhaps leaving 6 sheep tags left for the next round after the 20% max points round.

Did you read the "wonderful" news in the regs about the sheep tags next year?

You'll notice on page 8 of the regs that this year the application fee is $5 and the tag fees are $195 for a resident and $1,000 for a non-resident.

Then you go to page 9 and get the bad news for next year. The application fee goes to $7.50 and the tag fees go to $265 for a resident and $1,400 for a non-resident.