BEST BARREL MAKER???

TheKnack

Very Active Member
Looking at possibly getting a new barrel put on my .300
Win. Mag.
Anyone got some experience with which maker has the best
barrels. HART / SHILEN / DOUGLAS or others???
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Jerry

Hi Jerry
I have had good luck with Shilen, I have them in 300 Win. and 7MM Rem Mag. They both shoot less than 3/4 inch at 100 yards.
I Think this has something to do with how the barrel is set in the action and the action bedded in the stock.
I have a Buddy, He shoot a 300 Win. He uses Lilja barrels. They are out of Montana," Dan Lilja."
The others are probably fine but I have no experience with them.
Good Luck!!

schnider barrels out of arizona
thats who mcmillen custom guns uses for all their custom barrels

Kreiger makes a heck of a good gun barrel. I have buddies that swear by either Kreiger or Schillen. Don't own either myself but their guns are all nail drivers!

Good luck.

NvrEnuf

If it were me I'd use. either. Pan-nor, Krieger or Lothar Walther. I would check on availability first though, that might narrow the companies down.

Been shooting a Hart in my varmint gun, all I will say is "EXCELLENT!"

Hank

Jerry;
I have built over 15 rifles for elk hunting. Most of them were 300 Win. Mag., rest of them in 7mm mag about 2 in 30-06. I used Shilen barrels in all of them. I purchased my barrels already contoured, #3 contour from Brownells. Every one of those rifles were guaranteed to shoot 3 shots under one inch at 100 yards with Federal factory ammo. Every one of those rifles met the guarantee and several gave me groups down to one half inch.