BEST ELK AMMO FOR 308

O

outtabreath

I POSTED THIS MESSAGE IIN THE ELK FORUM AND ONLY GOT ONE RESPONSE, THOUGHT I'D TRY IN HERE.
GOT MY FIRST ELK TAG AND WONDERING WHAT THE BEST AMMO IS FOR A .308
I'M NOT GETTIN' A NEW GUN THIS YEAR, SO IT'LL HAVE TO WORK. ANYBODY GOT ANY IDEAS? THANKS. TREY

outtabreath:

Do you re-load your own, or will you be purchasing 'off the shelf' ammo? Either way, I would go with 180gr. bullet. If buying off the shelf, I would go with a premium round/brand. If you're reloading your own, I would go with a Hornady balistic tip boat tail (still in the 180gr.). I'm no expert, but the 180s should give you more energy down range, leading to better 'knock-down' power...

Buy a bunch and get out to the range to ensure you can hit the target with the new rounds!

Good luck!

S.

:)

I would consider a 165 or 180 grain Nosler Partition in the 308, if you do not reload, Federal ammo will be able to supply you with a good Nosler Partition in the above weights.

RELH

I shot a cow at 50 yards with my .308 last year on a late hunt. I was using 180 gr. Rem. Core lokts. Not my 1st choice (i would prefer a handload) but it did the job just fine. Double lung and the off shoulder punch through, she went 15 yards and was done. I am going to try some 165 grain and see what shoots best in my ruger m77 .308. hope that helps. jeff

Thanks for all the suggestions. I don't reload ,so its off the shelf. Problem is, there are no shelves around here with any of this stuff. Guess I'll order from Cabela's (as always).
Seems like the Nosler Partion is always well thought of, so i guess I'll go with that one. Federal "Vital Shok". 180gr.
I'll let ya'll know how they shoot.

Stanley.
Could you explain exactly what a "boattail" is? I keep hearing about those, but not sure what they are. Thanks. Trey