CO Unit 3 4th season

Brushbuster

Long time lurker, first time poster. More active on rokslide. But read these forums all the time for the great info you guys provide.

I drew a 4th season deer tag in unit 3. Just looking for some basic info to get started. I researched as much as I could before applying and have some areas to hunt in mind but since I’ve never been there before I’d love some advice from those that have experience .
It seems as though the deer herd is quite large but bigger bucks are hard to come by. My thinking was to take advantage of the later dates and maybe catch some mature bucks rutting and moving to the winter grounds from nearby units.
Any help is appreciated thanks!

I’ve read all the posts on here many times and they were very helpful. I’ve read that quality bucks can appear in the late season. But again I have no first hand knowledge. Hoping to pick people’s brains familiar with the area.
Never hunted it but from eveything ive heard on here is there isnt any mature bucks in nearby units either. If you use the search on here it should pull up several posts about unit 3
reading the old posts in this forum was the first thing I did when researching a few months ago. You guys are very helpful

I’ve spent a lot of time in the unit hunting antelope, and with others hunting 3rd season tags. As already said there’s really not many good bucks in sorrounding units either. I’d get ready for a tough hunt unless you like crabby 150-160” bucks

I’m being I realistic and not expecting a 180+ but would be happy with a good looking 160 probably. But the fun part is always trying to find the big one

No shortage of deer there. I drove through it in hunting season a couple years ago saw deer everywhere from the highway. Should be a fun hunt in that aspect

No shortage of deer there. I drove through it in hunting season a couple years ago saw deer everywhere from the highway. Should be a fun hunt in that aspect