Colorado Elk & Deer

elkhunter7pt

I'm a non resident and will have five points for both in two years.
What units would have a good combo hunt or back to back hunts. Looking for a unit that gives me a good chance of taking a 160 plus buck and a legal bull. Not trying to steal your spot, just looking at units with lots of public land. Any help much appreciated. Thanks

Hard to judge what you can draw in two years. Hard enough to judge what you can draw next year.

I'd focus on the deer tag that you can draw with other factors like your abililty to get off the roads and they type of place you want to hunt (thick or open stuff). Then buy the otc elk tag and see if you can get lucky while your going after your deer.

The time I tried to get it done like you want to get it done, we didn't kill any elk. I am sure if we would have gone after just elk, it would have been different.

It might be a little difficult to get the full use out of your points on both sides of the draw (elk and deer) at the same time. If you did pull that off, you would have a hard time putting the full effort into both tags.

Might make it easier on yourself if you were going to use a guide, even with that it might be difficult.

Not saying it can't be done.

LAST EDITED ON Jan-17-12 AT 04:38PM (MST)[p]Start here: http://huntodds.monstermuleys.com/

Click on Colorado, species, nonresident, and put your points in. Don't enter unit or type of hunt. then click search. It will give you all the hunts you could draw with your points.

txhunter58

venor, ergo sum (I hunt, therefore I am)