colorado trophy units for muledeer

thicketmaster

I have been deer hunting colorado for about 5 years and have been hunting a gmu with leftover tags. i was wondering what are some of the best units to put in for trophy deer? my plan is to keep hunting the unit i have been but make it my second choice till i get a hard to get tag. so what are the best units and seasons? any info would be helpful thanks.

thicketmaster, I am no pro on this subject but I do know that units 21,10 and 61 are some well known trophy units. I will probably get pummeled for saying that because I have seen these units take a beating by those who beg to differ. I can tell you I know a few guys that have hunted unit 21 both 2nd and 3rd season and they decribed as "like nothing I have ever seen" passing on over 50 lesser bucks a day until they saw the buck they wanted. The biggest deer they took was in the high 180's and the smallest about 165 but they invested alot of time to the tune of twelve years for the 3rd season and 8 or 9 for the second. I have asked this same question on this site and got some realy good feedback and decided to not waste that much time hunting pumkin patch units for that once in a lifetime hunt. Instead I'm gonna start buy finding a good 2 preference point unit and evaluate it from there. Just my two cents, I wish you success on whatever you decide.

Your best bet about getting ideas is to be a little more specific. The best place to start is the hunt odds on this website. Figure out how many years you are willing to wait and see which units can be had for that number of points. However, like accubond, most people feel like good deer can be had in 1-3 point units.

txhunter58

venor, ergo sum (I hunt, therefore I am)