Colorado unit 20 Elk hunting

oklahunter

I am a non resident with 10 points going into 2015. I was wondering about unit 20. I know there is a lot of private land and was wondering if there was one of the seasons that there might be more Elk on the public. I tried to do a search on unit 20 but came up with very little. It seems like no one ever mentions this unit. I guess it's because of all the private. If anyone can give any information I would appreciate it. You can Pm me if that would be better.

Phil

If yer gonna hunt it, hunt the latest season and pray for snow and cold. It's a tough unit but if u find a bull he's liable to b big. If u know the right landowner u could probabuy shoot 1 off their picnic table!

That # of pp is in no man's land. I don't think it takes that many for unit 20 and yer way short of the best units.

I have hunted 20 in the past and seen some good bulls in the late season...December and January. It seems like the hunting is better on the public ground that is available as it pushes them out the park and lower.

Thanks everyone for the information. It sounds like I might want to try one of the hunts in late season. My only question is January better or does it really make a big difference. Is it a lot colder in January than December as a general rule? Any other info would be much appreciated.

Odds are yes, more snow, cold in january. Just curious not judgein, ever hunted the unit?

No, I have never hunted the unit. I was just doing research on what units I could draw with the points I have and the success rates seemed pretty good. I never ever hear unit 20 talked about and was curious as to why. I really know very little about the unit. If you can tell me about the public land terrain, campsites, etc. I would appreciate it.

The more snow the better, the year I harvested a cow and so did a buddy, we had to get around in snow shoes.