Dall Sheep Hunt Help

Trophy_Taker

I'm strongly considering booking a hunt in AK or Canada sometime in the next several years. I am far from wealthy so this will be a OIL experience and I want to get the best value for my money.

I'm in good physical shape (not yet sheep shape) so either a backpack or horseback hunt are options. It seems that Canada hunts provide better success rates and bigger rams but that comes at a higher cost. Is it worth the extra money to hunt Canada instead of AK?

Who do you boys recommend I put on my list of possible outfitters to research and contact? How much is a reasonable budget including airfare, hunt, and other fees?

T_T,
With the right outfitter Alaska produces excellent results both in success and size. Lots of guys on here know who to contact but I have no personal experience in Alaska for sheep.

I have hunted sheep 4X in Canada and every experience has been topnotch! Three of those time I was on the Dall sheep mountain with Arctic Red River Outfitters in NWT CA.

I don't know what the current pricing is for the various outfitters but you can work on the math problem at your convenience and decide if it will work for you.

Good luck,
Zeke

PS: It's doubtful that you'll ever work harder before and during a hunt in your life! Sheep have a tendency to do strange things to a guy's TV time! LOL

I have only hunted Dall sheep once and like Zeke, my son and I hunted with Arctic Red in the NWT. We had a fantastic experience with them, but most of the other NWT outfits are very good as well.

I agree with Zeke about Alaska. If you get with the right outfitter and guide you can have a fine experience, but AK also has plenty of fly by night outfits. I have two good friends that went to Alaska with high hopes, only to come home empty handed.