Help me find a pistol

CouesFanatic

I want to get my first pistol ever for carrying while out hunting/plinking around/personal protection. I would like a bigger caliber for protection while hunting. (I think) A 9mm is too small right? I would like my wife to be able to shoot it. We have a lot of yotes, wolves and lions here. Grizzly's too but I've never seen one. I think i'm more concerned with weight than power. I'd like to keep it under 500 bucks if possible. I'm a big newbie with this stuff. Thanks

Auto or wheelgun?

horsepoop.gif

If you feel that the 9mm may be to small of a caliber for a "all around pistol" that leaves you with 40 S&W, 357 Sig, 45 ACP as your choice in a auto. Since your wife may be shooting it, I would opt for the 40 S&W caliber. Reasonable power rating, ammo easy to get and you can get standard loads for practice and up to hot +P for serious work.
Recoil is only slightly more then the 9mm with standard loads. As for the 500 buck limit, that may take some work on your part to get quality with that price in a new gun. I would stick with top name brands to insure getting a gun that is reliable. You may consider getting used over new to insure a good brand gun with a cheaper price. Just be careful and have a person go with you that knows how to check a pistol to insure it has not been abused. With this economy being slow, you may be surprised how many people are selling off their extra guns and alot of them have had very little use and are in nearly new condition.

RELH

RELH I hate it when you beat me to a post. Love a guy who actually has true non magazine working knowlege on guns. If it was me a Glock 40 shooting 165's wide open. Will do everything you need. I hav not found a pistol this is as reliable or corrosion resistant. You could give me a smith auto, but I would not pay you for one unless I could sell it in a week and double my money. Smith autos suck but their revolvers rock.