Hoyt MT sport--good/bad?

C

cohntr6

Any info on this bow would be great, I am probably going to buy 1 soon. It feels great, I really like it. I'd would rather not get any posts on which is the best bow to buy, just some info on this particular model. Thanks!
Jeff

I have a Hoyt MT sport - 2002 model. I'm pretty new to archery and bought it as a beginner bow. I ended up shooting a little buck with it last year. One of my only complaints about it is how small it is axle to axle. Also, I really like how the Cam 1/2 shoots which mine doesn't have. They came out with that in 03.'

How much are you paying for it and what year is the bow?

4_Plesur

It is a 2003 bow I think. Brand new but nothing comes with it for $200. Do you know how fast you are shooting and what your setup is (sight, rest, quiver, arrows, etc.) Thanks for your response 4 plesur
Jeff

I'm shooting the 2002 Hoyt sights, trophy taker arrow rest, 2002 hoyt quiver, hoyt vexor stabilizer, Goldtip XT Hunter 5575 carbon arrows, and I'm shooting 100gr. It's a good tree stand bow because of how small it is. I honestly can't remember how fast my bow was shooting. With everthing I think I'm in it $500.

Thanks for all the info, if you dont mind another question, what have you harvested with it?
Jeff

Last year I shot a little 2 point muley. He was standing about 30 yards out and I got a complete pass through. He ran about 50 yards and piled up.
If you haven't bought sights yet, I would definitely buy sights that have a level built into them. With the small bow, axle to axle, the slightest movement makes all the difference and a level helps you stay consistent.

If the bow feels good and shoots good for you and you like the speed and the price is right....what else matters!

I would say a lot of things still matter. Quality of the bow. A car can look and drive good but in just a couple of years it could be a real lemon.