Once in a lifetime.

Cam@strawberry

Very Active Member
Lots of discourse around LE, points, and time in general.

Been thinking about it quite a bit myself.

Some things that have been wandering around my head.

I’ve been hunting for 21 years now. In year 19 I killed a 200” deer off a general unit. Granted on LE late muzz tag. I didn’t stack points, I’ve been very opportunistic in my approach drawing LE tags at 25, 31, and 33. I have played the points game on GS deer as well as a human can working on year 9 straight with a tag in pocket with that regard. Point being, it took 19 years to kill a giant deer from an opportunistic perspective.
A9A86E71-D7A1-48C9-87E2-EA237E2BE156.jpeg

My brother stumbled on his own GS giant 191” deer at about year 17 for himself. He left 13 tags unfilled here before finding one literally in the driveway on his way home.
IMG_0393.png

My dad is on the other end of the spectrum, he’s been more focused on maximizing points and waiting for those 1-2 LE chances. He killed a 215” deer off the Henry Mtns after getting lucky and drawing it with 5 points. He spent 26 years getting there after stacking 21 points in LE elk.
IMG_1679.jpeg

It’s left me wondering, is there any actual value in LE hunts? We are 3 similarly skilled hunters, and when I consider the time frames invested into these deer, 19 years would have bought me a good LE unit which probably lands me a shot at a similar sized deer. 17 years would have got my brother a good LE unit which would have got him a shot at a similar sized deer. And 26 years got my dad a premium LE hunt and a shot at a giant deer at the sacrifice of other hunting opportunities. He’s put some big deer on the wall on GS or the like tags in the meantime in other states.

I guess the crux of the question is this: It feels like stepping up and swinging the proverbial bat as many times as possible yields the same results as waiting for just the right pitch?