HUNTERS FOR HABITAT

BearCat

I know there has been a ton of talk about what to do with our deer herds and I am by NO SENSE an expert. I will say I believe we have to do something concerning tags, coyote reduction and habitat restoration.

As many of you, I have been a part of the Dedicated Hunter Program for over 13 years and believe it or not I have not shot one deer!!! Of course I have seen many and tried, but nothing I wanted to pack out, hang on the wall etc. I feel I would leave them for seed for others. My point being is that in all that time, I spent most of my time on NON deer projects. I tried to get on deer projects and it seemed they were very few and hard to find. So that started me thinking this year.

I truly believe that a large chunk of our deer habitat is gone and I do not mean by homes. I mean the sage is just dead. Since I am not an expert I do not know if it is all because of the lack of rain, over grazing by deer or the destruction by cows. The areas I checked this year do not have houses for mile so that is not it.

So after one my trips to check on the deer I counted 6 dead fawns in one SMALL area and I am sure it was not due to coyotes but bad habitat so I took some pictures.

This is what our winter range is looking like in a lot of areas. This is a MAJOR problem, and why are our Dedicated hours not going to restoration? I know that even if we plant and then protect the new seedlings for a couple of years, this is a long process but come on we have to do something.