Javelina Points

desperatehills

Very Active Member
Can you get 2 Javelina points per year, one for the spring and one for the fall? I believe the fall hunts are youth only but I think it still lets anyone buy a point. I bought a point for each last year before I knew the fall hunts were for youth. How many points does it take to get the hardest to draw hunt?

It's my understanding you can only get one point per year per species (99% sure). The same question comes up for me with buffalo since they have two applications period per year. As a resident I've drawn javelina tags every year I applied (knock on wood). It's a peculiar species though because all units are good you just need to find them. It's a needle in a haystack unless you are VERY familiar with a particular area. My best advice is to apprach it like an elk hunt...spend the whole week hunting and hunt hard. To be honest it's not the first hunt I would take a youth. Its about the opposite from an easy antelope hunt in Wyoming. One awesome thing is the weather. If you pick a unit around or south of Phoenix the weather in February is usually awesome. It is a very challenging hunt. Bring the .22 for rabbits and other small game.

You can buy 2 points a year for javelina, turkey, and bison.

I don't think there is a "best unit" for javelina, unless of course you subscribe to the javelina theory that the best unit is the one you don't draw...

>You can buy 2 points a
>year for javelina, turkey, and
>bison.
>
>I don't think there is a
>"best unit" for javelina, unless
>of course you subscribe to
>the javelina theory that the
>best unit is the one
>you don't draw...

Like ArizonaBuild said you can certainly obtain 2 points per year.