Magazine Cover Photos -- What's it take?

SPAZ

Using a digital camera, real high end stuff...

What kind of resolution (dpi) is required for running a full-sized cover shot? What other requirements are needed for such a picture?

Does anybody here sell photos to outdoor and hunting magazines or have the knowledge of this?

Anyhow, I have some really good photos of a really big animal (alive), taken with a Nikon D-100 and a 420mm lens, off a tripod. I'm looking at the files and wondering what kind of resolution is necessary. Is 300 dpi required? Higher? Lower? Just curious.

Thanks for any experienced responses.

Spaz,
They do not use digital photographs for magazine covers yet. Even at your highest resolution its still not great enough. If you are interested in selling pictures to magazines you will have to shoot slide film still.

Spaz
I work in the printing/film imagining business (15 years) and I can tell you digital cameras have come a long way. It is now possible to almost get SLR quality photos from a digital camera. Almost. The discriminating eye couldn't tell the difference without a loop (magnifier). Slide film is still the industry standard but we are printing more and more stuff from high quality digital cameras and get amazing results. As much depends on the film output capabilities of the printer as it does your camera. A lot of places don't have the compatible software and film output for digital cameras. I check out most hunting mag covers and see a lot of crap that comes from slide film and they still print it. I won't go into resolution and DPI and get all techy but without being familiar with your camera I have no doubt that you could get "magazine cover" quality if you do not increase the image size of the original photo taken. Most digital cameras have multiple resolution settings, take pictures on the highest resolution and you can get great results. Boy this got a lot longer than I thought....