Midwest Mule Deer Hunters

WiscoKid

Hey guys, love the site, I'm looking for some information from other Midwesterners like myself. I'm pretty new to mule deer hunting. I harvested a nice 4x4 in Wyoming a few years back near Kaycee (rifle) and shot a 3x3 each of the last two years in South Dakota with my bow. Bowhunting is where my passion lies, but planning the hunts from Wisconsin gets to be difficult. I have my eye on Nebraska, or Arizona late season and am trying to gather information. What resources do you guys find to be the best, and how do you decide how much good mule deer country to drive through in order to find "great" mule deer country. Really, I'd be happy hunting 150s anywhere in the country. Any advice or tips are greatly appreciated

Where are you from in WI? I live in St. Paul, MN. It's very difficult to plan hunts out west. I've been hunting WY and SD for the last 20+ years. From what I've seen and heard, the place to go is western NE with a muzzleloader. There are very few hunters and the landowners seem to be willing to allow hunters on. Not the bowhunt your looking for, but a great option.

Feel free to PM me for my info about SD and WY.

T-

LAST EDITED ON Oct-26-16 AT 08:39AM (MST)[p]Coming from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan to North Dakota has been amazing. It can be tough to get a non resident muley tag even for archery. But a lot of guys apply for MT rifle muleys with very good odds of drawing. Also I have made a trip and intend to go again to Arizona in January for some late hunting for muleys.

not sure what you are asking but here I go...

If you mean you have picked a state/unit and are expecting to draw it or did. I scout as much of the unit as possible. Sure that will be tough being from back East and hunting 4 states away. However, it should be attempted. Even if you show up multiple days early and scout that is better than nothing.