New in town...

• Thread starter TexasTurnedColorado
  • Start date
T

TexasTurnedColorado

I recently transferred to Colorado State University from Texas Tech, where I went to school for two years. I transferred to CSU to graduate from their wildlife biology program, which should happen sometime in the next six years or so(grad school). I am now a resident, and can afford to put in for a muley tag. Problem is, I have very little idea where to go. I have been hunting for years and can find my way around the mountains. I've knocked down some nice White-tails but I want a big muley. I was an extra pair of eyes for my uncle this year in unit 34. Tons of hunters and not many deer. Its also quite a drive. I have a few questions...I would REALLY appreciate some insight guys...thanks!

Where, in the north central part of the state, can I get AWAY from everybody else...far, far, far away from roads and ATV trails, and see decent numbers of deer?

I was also curious about the area northwest of Granby...on the northern border of unit 18. Is that area private or public? Is there a resourse readily available that shows land ownership?

Also, is anything decent ever shot in the Poudre area??

Once again, I would really appreciate any feedback!

TexasTurnedColorado

Several years ago I hired a packer to pack us into GMU 18 Troublesome Basin area,saw a few elk,but never saw a deer. The DOW told me it was a good deer area,and it may be,but for me nothing and I would not go back.
I may hunt the border of RMNP this year for elk ,that is the north side of the park,during muzzleloader season.