Northern Region Deer Hunt Help

W

Wilks

Let's be honest.. I'm a newbie.. I've been out scouting the last two weekends in a few areas that I thought would be fruitful.. I haven't seen much.. So, I have a couple areas in the Northwest area of the state, but would love a little love from you pros.. I know, I know.. Who wants to share info? But if you are an archery guy, or have already filled your tag in some other area of the state, I would love to get some information. So, if you know these areas, please send me a pm or respond so I can ask some questions. .Thanks so much.. I really appreciate it.

I don't think you are going to get much info... You need to spend the time, gas money, and hiking boots to find the areas. May guys on here have spent many years searching for their 'honey holes' and wouldn't give out the location if you threatened their life. I think part of the fun of the hunt is getting out and finding new areas and exploring the many different areas of the state. I've also been burned by a few 'friends' that I showed good areas to hunt and found them out there with relatives or other friends the following weekend. Needless to say I learned my lesson and don't tell very many people where I go hunting.

My "honeyhole" is monte cristo. Tomorrow I will have the whole mountain to myself. I bet I wont even hear a shot, unless it is from my own rifle.

Ok on a serious note. I dont have any good info for you. just find a big chunk of ground and glass and hike. Maybe find a good vantage point and let other hunters push the animals to you. get away from the roads and you will have a better chance. good luck

I took my 9 year old boy out today, only saw two other hunters up on the mountain, but didn't see any Bucks either though.....

2a0fcsk.gif