OTC General Deer/Elk

BMosh

Hoping to pick your guys' brains a little bit. I'm a CA resident (unfortunately). I'm sitting on 11 pref points in CA and still unsure if I will draw my tag this year. If I don't, I'm attempting to line up a trip to ID and pick up an OTC deer and/or elk tag. Never hunted ID and have only driven through the southern and eastern portions. Any suggestions on OTC zones where I might find some success? I prefer open, desert-type country. I'm 30 years old so I don't mind humping it a bit.

Not much to offer in exchange as far as Intel, as I doubt many of you desire to hunt CA. But if by chance you do, I may be able to help. Any responses and PMs are welcomed. Thanks.

LAST EDITED ON Apr-05-15 AT 11:04AM (MST)[p]Of course, you know that your post is like an airliner carrying a deadly disease asking for a place to land, don't you?

Like most of the mt states, Idaho has no shortage of hunters and good spots require plenty of pre-season scouting. If I had to give you the best advice I could think of, it would be to try to find a group of californians that hunt out here (plenty of those!) who might be looking for another hunter to join their group.

Other than that, I would review the stats, pick a zone and figure that you're going to burn a season or two learning how to hunt it. EVERY zone in Idaho can produce big deer.

>LAST EDITED ON Apr-05-15
>AT 11:04?AM (MST)

>
>Of course, you know that your
>post is like an airliner
>carrying a deadly disease asking
>for a place to land,
>don't you?
>
>Like most of the mt states,
>Idaho has no shortage of
>hunters and good spots require
>plenty of pre-season scouting. If
>I had to give you
>the best advice I could
>think of, it would be
>to try to find a
>group of californians that hunt
>out here (plenty of those!)
>who might be looking for
>another hunter to join their
>group.
>
>Other than that, I would review
>the stats, pick a zone
>and figure that you're going
>to burn a season or