Pauns Rifle vs Henry Mgmt Tag

stilltrying

I have 14 bonus points going into next year's draw. Based on last year's applicants I would have a 100% chance of drawing either a Pauns Rifle hunt or a Henry Mgmt Tag.

I was wondering what all of you think about which of these hunts would be the best hunt.

My goal is to kill a great buck - a 30" 3 x 4 would be just as good as a 27" 4 x 4. (170+ buck).

I do have some knowledge of the Pauns area, however I am not an expert by any means on this unit. I have never stepped a foot on the Henry's.

Thanks in advance for any feedback/comments

WOW!

hornkiller.jpg

Either unit will meet your goal of 170. I would probably go Pauns....just because you know it better, and no antler restrictions. Just my .02

kind of a toss up! You will have more time to hunt the Pauns. The 5 days they give you to kill a management buck on the Henries could be hampered by bad weather and mud.

Henries tag could be awesome weather and you could be selective. Paunsagaunt potential would be definitely higher as there are some toads taken there every year.

I do think it would be easier to kill a nice management buck on the Henries than kill a 190/200+ toad on the Pauns.

You also have a history of the Paunsaguant too!

If I told you which unit, would you believe me anyways? I think you should flip a coin.

I was going to take my wife on this hunt as well - Henry's would provide more action (viewing more bucks on a constant basis, Pauns is a little tougher)?

Good point on the weather though - late Oct may bring in some nasty weather - do they start rutting at that point?

>The Henry"s has some smoker
>management bucks.

And the success rate the last few years has been close to 100%, I am just not sure if some of those settled for smaller bucks or not.

My buddy had a Henry muzzleloader tag this year and saw 2-3 buck that he said "....whould make a management tag holder VERY happy".