Rain, water holes and antelope

goforbroke

So I am planning to hunt antelope with my bow on the opener weekend August 15th. All this rain is making me wonder if it will be worth it to sit water. Might just turn in to a scouting and set up some trail camera pics. What your experience, do they still come in to established water when it is this wet?

The antelope I watch at work still use the same watering holes and they come pretty much with minutes everyday hitting the watering hole. But I am no antelope expert so I cant speak for other areas. Seems like my area they move spot to spot to water and spot to spot and its like clock work how they move everyday. There is still some that really don't have a pattern they use.

I notice the ones with no patterns hit the watering holes and maybe later in the day they come up to out water discharges from out battery locations in then oil feild

The rain doesn't help.
I've bow hunted them many times and rain will slow your hunt at established water holes substantially.
The dang things prefer to water in a water puddle than in a water hole if they have a chance. I've seen so much evidence of this that it's a fact to me.
Good luck,
Zeke

>The rain doesn't help.
>I've bow hunted them many times
>and rain will slow your
>hunt at established water holes
>substantially.
>The dang things prefer to water
>in a water puddle than
>in a water hole if
>they have a chance. I've
>seen so much evidence of
>this that it's a fact
>to me.
>Good luck,
>Zeke

I think you are right Kyle, but we haven't had enough rain around Casper to mess things up yet.

No need to travel a mile to the waterhole when they can get a drink out of the puddle 200 yards away...

Rain absolutely will affect your hunting at waterholes.