Region G

Sleddenhunter

I’m a resident but I’ve never hunted region g, just close to home. This year I’m taking my wife hunting and I would like some advice on access to get in the high country. Which side is the best to get in there with horses Pinedale or Afton. And if anyone could suggest some trailheads as a start point.

popcorn.gif

I just said g as a general area. Like I said I’ve never hunted the area. There are lots of trail heads in 135,143,144 and 145. Any decent person would then say “ hey try the hoback in 144 or north fork swift creek in 145.” I don’t want your hunting spot I just want a point in the right direction. I just grew up hearing people call the area Region G and the people I know hunt around Cody and the Bighorns. I want to try something new. And thanks for the trails you posted. And I didn’t know about the trailer permit so thanks for that info.

Just pick a high peak and head for it and begin your scouting. There are horse trails all over that country that’ll get you atop those ridges where bucks hangout.
I could tell you dozens of trailheads to ride in at, but you can see many of them on a map. Not all, but many. Just pick one and go.
If you want to be hunting where a big one lives, you’ll probably need to find him before the hunt begins.
Access from Pinedale or Afton is about the same. Good gravel roads.

And I hope you didn’t really buy that trailer permit bit.:)

No I didn’t think a trailer permit was a thing. Thanks for the info I do plan on doing some scouting for sure. Just didn’t want to go completely blind especially with a trailer didn’t want to get in to an area with little to no area to turn around. Thanks again.