Scent Eliminating Clothing

nmwapiti

How effective is this stuff? I noticed alot of hunters who post pics here don't seem to use it. Is it all hype? I am just getting into bow hunting and am wondering if it is a necessary investment.

My opinion for what its worth is that it's ineffective. Once your start sweating and of course breathing scent is released. Maybe if you were sitting in a tree stand and not sweating.

Gotta use the wind when you are hunting. I dont think there is any getting around it.

Ditto, for the price, it is definately not worth it. You can cut down on the scent but you will not get scent free. You will still need to hunt the wind. I have had a set of Scentlok for 5 years now and I have not noticed a difference between it and non scent eliminating clothes.

LAST EDITED ON Jan-22-08 AT 09:52AM (MST)[p]I agree as well. Not worth the investment. The only effective scentlock I have ever used besides rolling in fresh elk piss is a bottle of windicator (chalk in a squeeze bottle) and staying downwind of animals I am calling or stalking. I would focus more on an affordable camo pattern that is quiet and effectively breaks up your outline. All it takes is for one scent molecule to hit an animal's nose and you are done for. By the time you get to where you want to hunt or get into position on an animal you have probably sweated too much for it to be effective.

The only situation I have effectively used scentlock undergarments is while sitting in tree stands for whitetail in the Midwest. But that also means not wearing your outergarments in your truck or contaminating them in any way, shape or form and constantly recharging your scentlock by sticking it in the dryer every night (ie., not effective for western big game). But, even then, I have been busted by deer while the guy wearing a Carhart jacket and jeans and smoking in his stand arrows a big buck every year...