Side arm

m48goat

I'm currently trying to decide what caliber to get for a sidearm. I was pretty set on getting a 357 mag but I recently shot my friends 44 mag and now I'm debating on the two? I am not recoil shy. What are your guys opinions on those two calibers?

What do you guys carry for a sidearm when hunting? What do you like or reason for your choice?

Would you recommend something other then 357 or 44 ?
Post pics if you have any please

Goat

I don't go scouting, hiking or hunting without my 357, I have no experience shooting a 44 Magnum but I'm sure you would be happy with both. I use the .357 because I grew up with one.

Empty both guns as fast and accurately as you can. See which one you could unload into a charging bear's skull the fastest and most effectively. No reason to shoot a 357 if you can pump a bigger and harder hitting bullet as/more accurately.

On the flip side, no reason to step up in power if you can't shoot it well. JMO

I have packed at least 10 different side arms in as many years hunting and have come to the conclusion I personally like a .45 ACP in a revolver platform.

Smith and Wesson 625-8

smith625.jpg

The ACP is enough to take the fight out of black bears, lions and two legged evil but mellow enough to pop a grouse or rabbit nicely enough for easy clean up with 230 gr. ball ammo. (so is a .357 with .38 loads)The economics of the ACP are great as well and its a lot easier on your ears than a Mag for those times hunting when ear plugs are not worn.

Some people hate moon clips, I personally love them. I can also carry 24 rounds in a standard two flap speed load pouch by stacking them plus the 6 in the gun for 30 total.

454hh.jpg

I find it easier for me personally to keep revolvers running reliably compaired to the semi autos I have packed when full of dust, leaves, twigs, snow/ice and spilt soda.

All this being said the only advantage over a .357 is reduced noise and more ammo in the same space due to cartride length.