THANKS EVERYONE!!! (pics)

SDBugler

Very Active Member
I wanted to thank everyone on this forum for all their help. I am a veteran rifle and archery hunter but just recently took up muzzle loader hunting this year. I spent many hours going through threads on this sight learning as much as I could about muzzle loaders and it saved me lots of time compared to learning by trial and error.

This all started about 4 years ago when I decided I wanted to try hunting with a muzzle loader. I started applying for a late season muzzle loader deer tag here in South Dakota. I didn't actually get my first muzzle loader rifle until about two years ago when I traded in a 300 win mag for a Knight Bighorn. I had won the 300 win mag at our RMEF banquet and since I already owned a 300 win mag and a 300 RSAUM I didn't need another one in the gun cabinet. Due to other pursuits I never got around to actually shooting the gun though and it sat in the box for a couple years.

Finaly, after four years of applying I drew the late season muzzle loader deer tag. It was time to get serious about this new sport. I spent countless hours on this forum reading posts about powders, bullets, cleaning methods, tips, etc. After a couple trips to the range I found a set-up that worked well in my gun: 110 grains of triple-7, pushing 300 grain hornaday SST's. I shot two back to back 3-shot groups of 1" at 100 yards!! I was extremely pleased with this considering it was with open sights.

The first weekend of the season I was able to locate several nice 145 - 165 class whitetail bucks. Unfortuneatly they were on private land and didn't want to cross onto public land. I did pass up several smaller bucks at less than 100 yards but had my sights set on something a little larger.