unit 51late bull

Goldberg

If any one has some advise, it would be much appreciated. my son and I decided to apply for this unit, put in separately. He recently moved to Idaho Falls area, but he is still a non-res. Because of his new job, and because I really wanted to have a chance to elk hunt in Idaho again, we both decided that 51 would be a good spot, and by November he will have a few days to spend. I have had some experience years ago with deer in the little lost river area, but that has been at least 20 years.
So wouldn't you know- we BOTH drew!!! any one out there with any tips, specifically- should we go ahead and purchase both tags? or turn mine back to the second go draw? If this is truly a great, once in a lifetime tag, i will try to come up with enough cash to buy both tags(i told the boy i would buy his if he drew, happy d-day!)Never thought in a million years we would even draw one.
thoughts and tips will be greatly appreciated. I think i can get up there at least a couple of times this fall to look around, but don't remember any elk from the last time i was there back in the 80's, early 90's.

So I assume you are a NR yourself since you are concerned about the cost.

The draw odds on your hunt aren't that low, ~25%, so good job both drawing, but those odd's should give you an idea on if it is a once in a lifetime or not.

There were elk in that unit in 07 when I was there, but it is pretty vertical where the elk reside.

Have your son take a day trip from IF, not a bad drive. The ride will give him an idea about the country and how hard the hunt will be. Tip, if you don't know how to bone, learn.

Good luck on your decision.

There are a lot of wolves in the general area and they have eaten (official word disbursed) a lot of elk.