Unit Questions please help

southslope82

As you all know the application periods are not all that far away I have researched what I can and would like your help in making some decisons my questions are.

1. I am a non resident looking towards taking a 24'' Mule Deer Buck or bigger are there units that I could "REALISTICALLY" do this in for only applying 2-3 years for a rifle/anyweapn tag? If So Which ones? Time is more the issue for me in drawing rather than killing a trophy.

2. I also would like to start applying for a quality Elk unit were I could have an opprotunity at possibly a 340 plus type of bull with out having tremendous luck what units would you suggest? It wouldn't bother me at all to hunt hard I am not looking for a walk in the park.

I would be grateful for any help if I can return any favors for you about UTAH Questions let me know I would be glad to help.
thanks

Southslope,

You can realistically take a 24" mule deer buck on a leftover tag, any of the western slope units will do. With 2 or 3 points I would set my goal higher than 24". Just do some research and you will be on your way.

Rich

Really!! If I was to wait 2-3 years what would be some units to eyeball for deer? What would you raise the bar as far as size? I am not looking for an easy hunt where I could kill something off the road I am more than willing to hunt my guts out but would like to get into an area were 24'' bucks are not like trying to find a needle in a hay stack.

IMO, You can kill a 24" buck in ANY unit in CO if you get off the road and spend some time, and have a little luck. In some instances you can probalby kill much bigger.

Good luck with your elk quest... There are probably more 340 class bulls in one LE unit in UT than the whole state of Colorado. :) Lower your standards a little, and look into the Muzz or archery hunts in the limited entry areas. Get away from the roads 3-4 miles and you'll find elk.