general wyoming questions

elkliver

I have done quite a bit o research on the fish and game website but am having trouble with a couple of questions. can someone point me in the right direction?

to start, I am a non resident (which is why I don't know the answers)

1. Where do I find a list of units that are huntable with the General season elk tag? I know where to go to look at a specific unit and see if it has the general tag but not an overall list.

2. if I understand the general tag right, it lets you hunt in several units for the general rifle tag but the start dates for that rifle tag may vary from unit to unit. Do I have that right? I understand that if I have the general rifle tag I can also go hunt archery? Is that true for all general units? If not true how do I tell which units I can hunt archery and which I cant?

I applied for a general elk tag but depending on what other tags I draw, I may need to be flexible on dates when I go.

If you look in the application booklet download it will say "general" next to units that the gen tag is good for. I have seen a map where someone has highlighted all gen units in the past, but it may have been Huntinfool or Eastmans that put it out in their info.
Every gen area has own season dates. Look at the Regulations, not applications, for last year to get a guess on the dates. It also lists what units you can get the archery tag for toward the end and the dates.
Wyoming can change anything they want for 2014 when they approve new regulations, after the non res draw is done. Usually they don't change things up that much.

For question 2 that is correct. But if you archery hunt be sure to get a archery tag. During general you can hunt September for archery and rifle hunt October. of course check dates and special archery seasons in section 4