Open Seights vrs. 1X Scope?

gotthefever

This past year was my first year muzzleloading and I am hooked! Although I did not harvest my buck, I had a blast and plan on making muzzleloading my focus from here on out.

I am a UT resident and state law does not allow the use of any scope over 1X power while muzzleloading. I have talked to several people who say that open sights are the only way to go and that I would loose accuracy, particularly at closer ranges, if I was to put a scope on my gun.

With being a novice in the sport, it would be nice to get some good advice from those of you who do or do not hunt with a scope on your muzzleloader. Would the use of a 1X power scope be an advantage and will it add to my accuracy at all distances? I shoot a TC Omega and the scope I am looking at is a Citron. Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

gotthefever

A good scope is the only way to go IMO. The only open sights that can allow you to be as accurate in some conditions as a scope are peep sites. The bad side to peeps are they are limited in low light conditions IMO. Ask those same people that are telling you a scope would be less accurate if they shoot open sites on their high powered rifle?

Red dots are OK if you like to mess aound with switches and batteries - I don't like them. Burris and Nikon make very good 1x scopes. I like the Burris the best it has a lifetime warranty and finer crosshairs for the long range shots. There are several brands of cheaper scopes out there and I am sure they work ok but why turn your $400 omega into a $100 Omega - your gun will only be as good as your optics and your finger will allow it to be.

I second the 1x scope. I have the Burris scope and love it. Open sights at 140 to 150 yards tend to cover most of a deer.

LAST EDITED ON Nov-29-05 AT 10:41PM (MST)[p]Extex and Bragabit,

Thank yuo for taking time to reply to my question. As a rookie starting out it is nice to be able to get good advice from the pros.