4 Wheeler Advice

arroyobuck

I also posted in Campfire section.

Im looking for some advice and opinions on what to look for in selecting a used (2nd hand) 4 wheeler for hunting. I am on a poor man's budget and would like to cap my purchase at $2500. Can I get anything decent for that amount? Where should I look besides craigslist? What brands and size should I look for? Are there any other considerations I should know about?

I have hunted for 35 years without one, but am seriously considering one now. It would be used to get further back in the woods where I would then park and walk. Also I would use it to pack meat out. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

I'm sure you are about to be railed for not stating that you plan on staying on legal roads and trails. I've been riding a 2006 350 Honda for the past 2 or 3 years. I like it, but if I had it to do over again I would look for one that is automatic and has a low range. Mine is a standard and is hard to shift, especially from 1st gear. I also find I could use just a little more slow go power, thus the desire for low range. It has made driving those rotten rocky steep two tracks much more fun and it is much faster to get where you're going. It also saves beating up the pick-up truck. Just drive up the good road, unload, and zip on up the hill. Even if it takes several trips, if you're camping, to get your gear to the camp site, it is well worth it.

Is 4 wheel drive needed or just a "nice to have"? I get your point about a low range being a good option to have

Keep the info coming

Thanks

high and low range is good. independent rear sus is nice. Park brake is plus. good clearance and racks also is nice. Second option of starting it incase you have a bad battery.

for $2500 look at a honda 300 fourtrax.. I have had one for 20yrs and its very dependible.. just take your time looking for one.. I would get the 4x4..I still use it, even thou i have bigger and faster ones.