any advise

huntn30inchers

I am rather new to bowhunting and my shooting is a little shakey. My major problem is my consistency. I am pretty sure that I squeeze my bow as I am releasing which causes me to miss low and left(Am i correct in thinking this?). This almost always happens right after I stick one. Does anyone have anything that might be able to help me get over this before opening weekend. Thanks.

Shoot with an open hand and curl your fingers under so you can't "catch" the bow when it goes off. Also try to keep your bow arm straight until you see the arrow hit the target. If you are shooting low, it could be because you are dropping your bow arm. Practice, practice, and practice. Bow form takes lots of this. Good Luck.

I agree with sixgun. Don't grip your bow tight, keep an open hand, maybe touching your thumb an forefinger. Use a wrist sling if you need to help "catch" you bow after release.
And follow through, try to keep you bow (and arm) up and in the same position until your arrow hits the target. Start shooting at close range until your form and confidence increase, then move back.
If none of this does it, make sure your arrows are properly spined for your bow.
Good luck!

Lien2

I do shoot with an open hand, but my problem is that when my trigger breaks my hand just snaps closed. So tonight im going to try shooting with my fingers curled under and try to concentrate on keeping my bow on the target until a few seconds after the arrow hits. I will probably lighten up the trigger on my release also. Ill reply latter tonight and we will see how it went.