AZ Archery Elk

Aaron

How many points do U think it would take to get a for sure draw tag in unit 10 or 3a/3c or unit 1 for archery. I would love 9 but not willing to wait that long. I am a non resident.

I think max points this year for elk is 18 or 19,In arizona,there are no for sure draw tags.

Thanks bragabit. Thats what i thought but just checking. I have 9 so i am getting close. By the way to the first post if u have the max points for a certain unit u bet there is a for sure tag for some lucky bastard like myself one day.

Aaron have you taken the hunter safety course to get the extra point? I have 10 points and if i don't draw an archery tag this year i'm going to try to take the course before next years draw.
Oilcan

Is there some where that this info is available, I use to get the stat book that they put out, but haven't for several years now. I have 10 points and it would nice to know how my possible odds are.

LAST EDITED ON Jan-24-08 AT 09:51AM (MST)[p]Aaron,

Unfortunately, NRs also must contend with the 10% cap on NR permits, which is set on a PER UNIT basis.

For example, this year, there are 150 archery permits available in both Unit 10 and 3A/3C. That translates to only 15 NR permits available in each unit, even though the 20% set aside for the max points holders is 30 for each hunt. So once NRs hit the magic 15 permit mark, no other set aside permit can be issued to a NR. There are also dozens upon dozens of NRs & residents that have as many or more points than you have.

That all said, it is possible but not probable that not all 15 NR permits get issued from the max point pool -- i.e where residents draw 20 and NRs draw 10, or some similar combination. In that case, anyone with any number of points has a chance to draw one of the remaining five NR permits in the general draw. Just don't hold your breath because it will probably never be a SURE thing. ;-) -TONY