Az Residents May Be Okay

caelkhnter

Very Active Member
I am a former Az resident, and own a cabin in unit 6a. I do not believe I am too removed from Az to feel the pain, frustration, anxiety and anger the recent court ruling has caused. In addition I too wish the ruling had come after this season results were out and the issue could be dealt with in the context of next season. Furthermore I do not agree with the efforts by the USO group. All that being said, I have an observation to make that will most likely bring me ridicule but I think it is something that ought to be considered.

I used to be of the belief that the Az 10% rule menat that nonres got 10% of the tags for each hunt. Then I learned that the rule simply meant that no more than 10% could go to nonres. In other words if the drawing took place and only 1% wennt to nonres then so be it. Under those circumstances the 10% rule would not come into effect. I remember not long ago someone had made a post on this site and was taking issue with Az's 10% rule because it did not guarantee nonres at least 10% of the tags. This person said that the actual statitics showed that the 10% rule was hardly ever in play because in fact far less than 10% of the tags ever went to nonres. If this is true then Az could simply remove the 10% rule and there would not be any constitutional issues and the draw could probably proceed as it always has with the nonres taking far less than 10% of the tags. Thus the court ruling would have little if any effect.

I may be misinformed or the premise I am operating under may be incorrect. Does anyone know what the real facts are? If my assumptions are correct then maybe there is no need for the Az res to get too excited about all of this.